Birmingham indie shoegazers JAWS have shared their first cut in over a year and announced the release of their third LP, ‘The Ceiling’, due out on April 5th, 2019. The new single, ‘Driving At Night’, is the opening track of the forthcoming full-length, which follows up to their well-received ‘Simplicity’ (2016).

The band adds new layers to their signature dreamy soundscapes, creating textures and atmospheres that are typical of their initial production yet sound more explorative. “Lyrically ‘The Ceiling’ is generally about feeling a bit lost, – frontman Connor Scofield explains – I think as you grow up everything feels like its moving along a lot quicker; friends, relationships, life can all seem to move at 100 mph. Sometimes we forget that its OK to stand still for a bit sometimes and actually breathe. A lot of these songs are about dealing with that. Musically I think we’ve surprised even ourselves with it, we’ve gone down paths we haven’t taken before and ended up with something we’re really very excited about.”

The band will be back on tour next April, with the first batch of four UK dates, including London Camden’s iconic Electric Ballroom on April 25th.

Check artwork and tracklist for ‘The Ceiling’ and listen to ‘Driving At Night’ below here.


‘The Ceiling’ – Tracklist
1. Driving At Night
2. Feel
3. Do You Remember?
4. Fear
5. End of the World
6. Patience
7. Looking / Passing
8. The Ceiling
9. Please Be Kind
10. January


Facebook Comments